Image

Motivated to get Serious

bolddreamd

My daughter graduated from middle school a few weeks ago. She and her best friends drove us mothers crazy the night before. They needed this and needed that and couldn’t stop texting each other comparing notes. One would think it was the eve of their weddings.

I was surprised when her best friend showed up the next morning at 7:00 am, one hour before graduation, with flawless hair, as if she had just walked out of the salon. Come to find out, she had! I mean, just walked out of the salon that is.

After the ceremony her mom shared that she was able to get her hair done at 5am, because the hair dresser takes 5am appointments when needed, and actually on a regular basis. Wow! The night before graduation this woman gave her a 5am hair appointment and she showed up looking fresh and fab!  Now that’s customer service, but more so – I call that being about your business!

dream1

It doesn’t matter what the business is, or what industry you want to break into – if you want it, you have be ready to do the work and serve up satisfaction to the customer. I wrote this post in my notepad on my phone last Saturday morning. Sitting in Ms. C’s chair at a lovely salon where lavender and ginger aromas fill the air. It was just after my shampoo and I was her 5am appointment that day. I just had to find out for myself, plus it was the only time I could go in quite literally, and she was willing to squeeze me in.  When I showed up she had another 5am client, and they just kept coming. This lady is in demand!

All of this reminded me that I have all these publishing and artistic goals kind of lined up for the next few years. I took a moment (just a short one) to beat up on myself as to why I haven’t been as successful as I would like. Truth is I have not been about MY business. I spend more time talking about writing (and why I’m not writing) than actually writing. So, enough of the life lesson – there’s time, I can do it!

We can all do it!

dreams

There’s room and time for all of our dreams and goals. We just have to push forward and be about our business. So whatever you want to do, go be about it. I’m going to start by giving my writing the priority in my life that it deserves. Then start treating it like a business, so I can be about my business.

Here’s to hard work and big dreams becoming reality! 🙂

Leave a comment